General Information


The State of Qatar is a peninsula located amid the western coast of the Arabian Gulf. Of the islands affiliated to Qatar, Halul, Shraouh and Al-Asshat are the most important.


The land mainly consists of a flat rocky plain, covered with a range of low limestone outcroppings in Jebel Dukhan in the west and Jebel Fuyart in the north. This plain is mostly marked by its many inland seas (Khors), bays and basins called (al-Riyadh) over the northern and middle areas that are considered to be the most fertile lands housing different natural plants.


Qatar occupies an area of 11,521 square kilometers.

Local Time

GMT +3 hours.


Qatar has a population of about one million and eight hundred thousand (as per 2012 Population census). About 83% of the population lives in Doha and its major suburb Al-Rayyan.

Capital City

Qatar’s capital city is Doha.


Arabic is the official language of the country, but English is also widely used.


Islam is the official religion of the State of Qatar, and the Islamic Law (Sharia) is a major source of legislation in the country.

Major Cities

Doha, Al-Wakrah, Al-Khor, Dukhan, Al-Shamal, Msaieed, Ras Lafan and others.


Qatari Riyal (One Riyal = 100 Dirhams), and one US Dollar = QAR 3.65 (as a fixed rate).

National Day

December 18 every year to commemorate Sheikh Jassim Bin Mohammad Al-Thani, the founder of the State of Qatar. 


Qatar has a desert climate with hot summers, warm winters and scarce rainfall.

Electric Current



Flag of the State of Qatar

The national flag of the State of Qatar is maroon with a broad white nine-point serrated band breaking into the maroon side.

The meaning of Qatar's flag

  • The white colour denotes the internationally recognized symbol of peace.
  • The maroon symbolizes the blood that was shed during the several wars Qatar has undergone, particularly in the second half of the 19th century.
  • The nine-point serrated line obviously indicates that Qatar is the 9th member of the (Reconciled Emirates) on the Arabian Gulf in the wake of concluding the Qatari-British treaty in 1916. This is recorded by the British Ministry of Foreign Affairs in 1931 regarding Qatar’s national flag’s layout and colouring.